You must sign in Login/Signup

New student? Register here

14 December, 2020 Views 881

KU Opposes HEC's Decision To Abolish 2 Year Bachelor’s Degree Programs

Karachi University has announced to reject the decision of the higher education commission regarding the abolishment of the 2-year bachelor’s degree programs. Previously HEC had issued the notice to not recognize the two-year bachelor’s degrees awarded after 2018 and also directed the universities and colleges to not offer admissions to such degrees. The summary has been sent by the university to the Sindh government's universities and boards department, in which the varsity clearly stated it is not possible to act upon the decision of the HEC instantly as the major administrative expenses are paid through the fees collected from two-year degree programs. In order to introduce the associate degree programs across the country in all the colleges and universities, a proper infrastructure is needed. So the decision cannot be applicable as it will create financial difficulties for public-sector universities.

Notification Issued By HEC

Earlier HEC had announced the students who were enrolled in the two-year programs before 31st December 2018, are now allowed to complete their degrees until 31st December 2020. The varsity highlighted that the students who failed to complete the course in the mentioned time would be awarded the associate degree once they will complete their course. The candidates have to enroll in a four-year degree program and study for four more semesters. 

KU Academic Council 

The KU academic council has rejected the proposal to implement the associate degree program instead of the bachelor's program as it will be not a significant addition to the academic strengths. As per the sources, the KU will continue the two-year bachelor’s degrees and will not terminate the admissions. In this regard, the university authorities have decided to discuss the matter with the chairperson of the HEC, Dr. Tariq Banuri in a meeting in which the vice-chancellors of various universities across the country will participate.